Garden Room

Leave a comment

June 3, 2014 by lovenellie

As promised here is part deux, Chelsea Flower Show the sequel…… there really was so much to inspire me there that I could not possibly contain it to one post!

I love my gardening mainly because I view the garden and an extra room of my house. I love the original way that people can create unusual spaces in their garden to relax and entertain. Now I am not talking about a teak table set that needs pressure washing every six months or a garden bench under a tree, I am advocating a much more creative approach to designing your outside space.

Chelsea Flower Show had some great ideas, I loved the garden sponsored by House of Fraser and it epitomizes exactly what i am talking about. They have really made and additional room,complete with antlers on the wall ! I have been busy designing a fireplace complete with mantle piece for my garden so i was inspired to see this one. If you look on Ebay you can find lots of old fire surrounds for pennies and then its a matter of either popping them against an existing wall or getting a builder/ handyman to build you a small wall (fake chimney breast) to pop it on.photo (7)

Garden lighting is also so important and i love the use of the standard lamp as an outside solar light set amongst the flowers. I also spotted this amazing out-door chandelier and although this would look great hung from a huge tree in the garden, the cost of it may be more that the plot of land that is your garden but we can all dream!

photo (8)

Living walls were also on display at Chelsea and I thought they made a really interesting addition to any patio space. Scotscape living walls are masters in designing and building amazing features, they offer a design, installation and planting service all in one for home owners. Prices range from £200 per square meter. The new Terapia Fabric Living is also available for adventurous home gardeners to plant up themselves.

johnswood-1  clapham-2  johnswood-3

If you like this look you can recreate it with a pallet ( hey these days there is nothing you can’t make with a pallet ) I found this fab tutorial showing you how to make one on U -tube so click on the link and have a go.

wall-planter500x600 a planter a planter 2

Personally I think your choice of garden furniture is important too, I love the look of weather proof armchairs. The Kartell Bubble range of outdoor armchairs has long been a favourite of mine but those clever Scandi designers at Ikea have designed a more affordable version- The Skarpo Range. I have these in my garden and they have been excellent quality and durable over the winter too.

kartell   Kartell nicey but pricey.!!!!!

 

photo (10)

 Cheaper and chicer ( well I would say that its my garden!)

I made my outside coffee table from an old pallet, cheap and effective. ( I’m sounding slightly pallet obsessed i know!) but equally as effective would be to use some tree trunks and most sawmills will cut you a large trunk of tree for a few pounds.

So a few things to think about when planning your outside space, don’t be boring get creative and invent an individual space where you will want to relax with friends.

Here are a few other ideas that inspired me.

kartell 5 kartell 3 kartell 2 kartel6

Have a great day everyone, rain predicted for tomorrow so that’s going to put a halt to gardening, and play havoc with my furniture painting workshop !! Come on summer, hurry up!

Lynne xx

Leave a Reply

Love Nellie Daily Dose

Working hard to pass on all the good stuff....

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,397 other followers

Categories

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,397 other followers

