HOMES AND GARDENS MAG!

Leave a comment

February 3, 2014 by lovenellie

Happy Monday everyone,

A busy day here spent trying to work through my never ending ‘To Do’ list  was made all the nicer by opening HOMES & GARDENS magazine to see my bathroom staring out at me, in the Inspired Bathrooms supplement.

bathroom

 Satsun Cottage1097

Homes and Gardens say that it is ‘A harmonious balance of traditional pieces and opulent finishes creates a luxurious space with a timeless feel’ how nice of them?! Clearly they have not seen the state it gets left in after my two lovely little ladies finish bath time?

Apparently the ‘Victorian style subway tiles never go out of fashion and this version in a soothing pale green brings colour and a utilitarian feel to a predominantly white space.’

As the mag has not really gone into too much detail about how to create the same look should it take your fancy I thought I would list some of the things for you. It’s a pet hate of mine when I am reading a mag and see something I like but can’t find any information or reference of where I can buy it from. So:

Old Fashion coat rack that I use to hang my towels from is from Graham and Green £138.00.

Oversized zinc letters – I actually got mine in Anthropologie but it seems that they no longer stock them, don’t worry though ETSY has lots of similar.

Bath mat is from The White Company and was £26.00.

The Green tiles, similar can be bought from Fired Earth I bought mine and received great service from Tonnes of Tiles this green colour is Lime house Green in a crackle glaze and can be purchased for only 42p per tile.

The vintage jelly mould on the window sill I bought from a charity shop and planted up with some heather.Keep checking on www.lovenellie.co.uk for similar vintage finds.

The chest of drawers just peeping into the shot is again another second-hand find that I cleaned up and changed the handles on. I think that if you add ceramic handles to wooden furniture in a bathroom it immediately gives it that bathroom, utility kind of feel. Ceramic drawer knobs are about £8.00 at Homebase and they can change the look and update an otherwise tired piece of furniture.

So there you go, I am now off for a bubble bath!!! Tomorrow is another day and I have added ‘coffee with Mummy pals’ to the list so that I know I will have the satisfaction of ticking at least one thing off! All work and no play, life to short and all that!!!

Don’t forget it is the last two episodes of the ‘Great Interior Design Challenge’ this week Tuesday and Wednesday 7pm BBC2. Who will win? It’s all so exciting.

Thanks all. x

Lynne

Leave a Reply

Love Nellie Daily Dose

Working hard to pass on all the good stuff....

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,079 other followers

Categories

Archives

