Make a Tree Trunk Coffee Table.

Leave a comment

February 23, 2016 by lovenellie

Hi all,

Since posting the pictures of my tree stump coffee table on the Love Nellie Facebook Page  I have been inundated with questions about how to make them so I thought I would share my top tips. Although I have to say they are very easy to make the tricky part is you need patience. The tree stumps do need to dry out in a warm place for a few months.

So here is the method to my madness.

logmill

1)Make friends with a farmer or someone lovely at your local sawmill and buy or beg some large chunks of tree truck in the diameter that you’re looking for. If you smile really nicely they will load them into your car for you too -Result.

2) Now this is the boring bit, you need to leave them somewhere warm so that they dry out and the bark becomes easy to remove. I actually left mine for over 6 months in my workshop but I guess if you had somewhere in the house for them to dry out you may be able to cut that down to about a month or so. Don’t worry if the wood splits as it dries and shrinks that’s part of the charm of these tables, we are NOT looking for boring perfection.

FullSizeRender (4)

3) Right so its dried out and maybe shrunk a little its time to peel that bark off, as mine had been drying out for so long it was quite easy I just needed to leaver if off with my palette knife. It its a bit harder to get off then use a chisel and a hammer and give it some welly.

4) Once all the bark is off and the stump is bare its time to go large with the sander.I used my electric sander so smooth off the top of the stump to make an even top to the table. I then smoothed the sides but to be honest you may want to use a sheet of sandpaper for this as you don’t want to take off to much of the detail that gives the log  its character.

FullSizeRender (6)

5) Lastly I painted the stump with Zinsser BIN Shellac based primer in white, I have left it white but you could paint on top any colour or even spray it metallic.? Its time now for you to get creative and make that stump your own.

FullSizeRender (2) FullSizeRender (3)

 

Love the Finished table…

FullSizeRender (1)

 

A few more ideas for you.

 

tree stump 11 coffee tables 24  tree stump 12 tree stump 13 Tree stump coffee table tree stump tree stumps coffee 2 tree stumps coffee

 

I’m currently drying out a few more stumps with the intention of going metallic like these ones. I will report back when finished.

So there you are, a stylish table for pennies #simplebuteffective. I have seen them sold on the high street for hundreds of pounds. ( bloomin cheek!)

Crack on and don’t forget to share any pictures on the facebook page.

Love

Lynne xxx

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Love Nellie Daily Dose

Working hard to pass on all the good stuff....

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,078 other followers

Categories

Archives

